Telephone : + (94) 112 055318
Fax : + (94) 112 058994
E-mail : apbsl@sltnet.lk

APB – Six a Side Cricket Championship

ABP Cricket Carnival pictures in Daily FT pictorial

Hatton National Bank emerged as Champions beating Nations Trust Bank at the six a side cricket carnival organised by the Association of Professional Bankers Sri Lanka (APB) held on 25th January at the Bloomfield Cricket Grounds. The cricket carnival culminated with several religious and social service events that were previously conducted by the Association to commemorate the 25th year anniversary.

The Cricket carnival provided a perfect atmosphere for Bankers of the Country to display their cricketing talents while having an enjoyable day out with colleagues and families. 20 Teams, one each from financial services industry institutions participated in the tournament where fostering fellowship was very much evident despite fierce sporting rivalry amongst the teams.  In the run up to the finals, Nations Trust bank beat Sampath Bank in the 1st Semi Final while Hatton National Bank beat Bank of Ceylon in the 2nd Semi Final. The final saw Hatton National Bank getting the better of Nations Trust Bank to win Cup Championship honours. Sampath Bank beat Bank of Ceylon in the third place play off while Peoples Bank beat Sanasa Development Bank to clinch the Plate championship.  

Individual award winners were:

Team scored the highest no. runs     Hatton National Bank
Highest number of Sixes     Mohamed Ikram (HNB)
Best Batsman   Mohamed Ikram (HNB)
Best Bowler   Rashmi M Abeysekara (HNB)
Best Fielder     Thikshana Wedagedara (HNB)
Best All-rounder   Mohamed Ikram (HNB)
Man of the Final     Mohamed Ikram (HNB)

The Chief Guest of the day Mr. Aravinda Perera, Managing Director of Sampath Bank and President of the APB along with the Guest of Honour Mr. Piyal Hennayake, Deputy General Manager Hatton National Bank and Senior Vice President of APB , presented team awards.  Immediate Past President of the Association Mr. Hennayake Bandara - General Manager of National Savings Bank along with  Mr. Sunil De Silva –Senior  Deputy General Manager Seylan Bank and Mr. A. Kathiravelupillai, both Advisors to the Council of the APB, presented awards to the individual award winners.

Mr. Aravinda Perera – President APB and Mr. Piyal Hennayake – Senior Vice President  APB with the winners of HNB





     Copyright © 2004 - 2018 by Concept & Development By
     Association of Professional Bankers - Sri Lanka I-WEB SOLUTIONS